HDR, HDR10, HDR10 +, Dolby Vision - what do these TV features mean?

Who I am
Aina Prat Blasi
Author and references

HDR10, HDR10 +, HDR: what changes between the different HDRs? There are 4 different types of HDR: HDR10, HDR10 +, HDR and Dolby Vision. Technologies are constantly evolving on televisions. Industry pushes the boundaries of perfection. In recent years, pompous terms have been used to show the merits of TV: HDR, HDR10, HDR10+ o Dolby Vision. If you don't understand what these terms mean, it's time to find out.

The best Sony TVs for 2022 >>

Over the past decade, televisions have evolved a lot. We have gradually seen CRTs replaced by LCD panels being replaced by ultra slim LED TVs. Now OLED has established itself as the leading TV standard. But these aren't the only features that matter when choosing a new TV.

In addition to the Full HD, 4K and very soon 8K TV definitions announced for 2022, let's talk for a bit about HDR, but also HDR10 or even the most recent HDR10 + . Not to mention the Dolby Vision technology for a feeling very close to the cinema. If like many users, you don't know what it is, here's what each of its features means.

HDR, HDR10, HDR10 +, Dolby Vision - what do these TV features mean?

The best Philips TVs for 2022 >>

HDR: la base

High Dynamic Range (HDR) or high dynamic range imaging improves pixel quality on 4K TV, resulting in more accurate color and contrast. This results in the display of higher brightness levels and a wider color palette. The idea is to make your eyes perceive whites brighter and blacks darker than what traditional TVs can display.


HDR10 is the most widespread HDR variant, that is the one used on all 4K TVs, even at the input level. The principle is the same. Use dynamic range to display darker blacks and brighter whites. Its peculiarity consists in applying a unique color code when viewing a video. Reason why we speak of "static" format.

In other words, the calibration system finds the right compromise and keeps it at the same level regardless of the scene. HDR 10 is an open source format adopted by several filmmakers in the television industry, but also by other electronic devices, including recent video game consoles.

HDR10 +

While the HDR 10 standard sends static metadata to video streams, which contain information encoded on color calibration settings, the HDR10 + introduced by Samsung works differently. Send dynamic metadata, which allows TVs to configure color and brightness levels on a frame-by-frame basis.

This makes images more realistic by adapting the display to the scenes. In addition, both standards support a color depth of 10 bits or approximately 1024 primary color tones.

What about Dolby Vision?

Dolby Vision is a powerful cinematic technology that is gradually being rolled out to high-end televisions. It works like HDR but is a proprietary technology introduced by Dolby Laboratories. Most high-end 4K and OLED TVs support this feature, in addition to HDR10.

Like HDR10 +, Dolby Vision sends dynamic metadata to the TV. However, it is different in that it supports a color depth of 12 bits (compared to 10 for the HDR10), which is 4096 primary color hue. Additionally, Dolby Vision aims to reproduce 10.000 nits of maximum brightness. This means that compatible TVs can produce up to 10 times more light than HDR10. But in practice, very few TVs reach this value.

The best Samsung TVs for 2022 >>

Further Reading:

  • What is an RCA cable? RCA cables have been around since the 50s
  • How to buy a cheap 4K Smart TV
  • Samsung vs LG TVs: Who's the Best?
  • The best streaming device in 2020
  • How to improve the sound quality on your Galaxy by activating Dolby Atmos

add a comment of HDR, HDR10, HDR10 +, Dolby Vision - what do these TV features mean?
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.