Vanish mode on Instagram adds a new level of privacy to chats. Here's how to use the feature.
Do you know what they say "the Internet never forgets"? Now it can! Not having to worry about your messages being read by others snooping on your device is a liberating experience.
With Instagram's Vanish mode, you can have private chats that disappear after being read. In this article, we'll show you how to use Vanish mode on Instagram like a pro.
What is Vanish Mode
Vanish mode was launched on Facebook Messenger in 2020, but has also been added to Instagram's messaging features. Facebook has announced that the feature will allow users to create and join temporary chat threads that are automatically deleted when the chat ends. It's very similar to Snapchat's auto-delete feature, but will only work when you manually turn it on.
Vanish mode only works for chats with two people. It doesn't work in group chats.
Let's take a look at how the disappearing message feature works!
How to use Vanish mode on Instagram
To activate Vanish mode, follow these steps:
- Open your Instagram app and click icon area of Chat .
- Select an existing message or create a new message thread, then scroll to the end of the chat.
- Scroll to the high from the bottom of the screen and release your finger to activate Vanish mode.
- Once activated, the screen goes dark and some "Shush" emojis fall from the top of the screen to signal that you are in Vanish mode. Your chat buddy also gets a notification with an on-screen message that he is chatting in vanity mode. Go ahead and post your direct messages on Instagram as normal.
To close the Delete Mode feature, open the chat thread and tap Disable delete mode at the top of the screen. Immediately exits Vanish mode for you and your chat partner.
Once the chat window is closed, all displayed messages will disappear.
Note: if the feature doesn't seem to work in your app, make sure it's up to date. If you have the latest version on Instagram and still can't access Vanish mode, it may not be available in your country.
Important things to know about Vanish mode
Before you start using Instagram's Vanish mode, here are some important things to note.
This feature will only work with people you follow on Instagram. This is a company security precaution so that you don't have to deal with unsolicited messages from strangers on Instagram.
You can also choose to activate this feature with someone or decline the request. You are in total control of your chat experience.
If your chat buddy takes a screenshot of your messages in Vanish mode, you will be notified immediately and vice versa.
Make sure you turn on Disappearance mode before sharing a message, otherwise your chats will remain permanent unless you decide to cancel them.
If you send messages by mistake without activating the Vanish Mode feature, your messages will be displayed like all other messages. Vanish mode will not automatically hide messages sent by mistake.
Vanish mode is perfect for you if you're worried about snoopers looking into your chats. If security and privacy are important to you (as we are sure they are), then you should take advantage of Vanish Mode's offers.
You can also use Vanish mode if you want to have a private chat with another Instagram user. For example, if you are planning a surprise party for a friend or loved one, you can share the details with other parties with Vanish mode, so there is no chance of information leakage.