How to make private and hide your photos on Facebook

Who I am
Aina Prat Blasi
@ainapratblasi

Here's how you can change the audience settings of your Facebook photos to make them private.

Facebook has customizable settings that allow you to restrict access to your photos or hide your photos from others.

How to hide your Facebook photos

To make photos private on Facebook, you can change the privacy settings of entire albums or individual photos.

How to make Facebook photo albums private

  • From your profile, go to the Photos tab.
  • Then, find the photos you want to make private in Album.
  • Go to the relevant album, then click on the three dots in the top right corner.
  • Then select Edit. You'll see a section that says Friends or Audience with an icon showing two people. Click to change the audience of your album.
  • From here you can control who can view the album. Select Only me if you don't want anyone else but you to see this album and make it private.
  • Then click Save or Finish.

If you don't want to make the photos completely private and still want to share them, only with a more limited audience, you can choose the audience options for Friends, Friends except, or Specific Friends.



If you want to show the album only to a group of friends in a particular list, select Show Lists and choose the list you want to share the album with.

How to make individual photos on Facebook private

  • Go to your profile and click on the Photos tab.
  • Then select the photo you want to make private.
  • Click on the three dots in the upper right corner.
  • Select Change post privacy.
  • Change the privacy setting to Just me to hide the photo from the history and make it private.

If you don't want to make the photos completely private and still want to share them, only with a more limited audience, you can choose the audience options for Friends, Friends except, or Specific Friends.



If you want to show the album only to a group of friends in a particular list, select Show Lists and choose the list you want to share the album with.


How to always publish photos privately on Facebook

The next time you post a photo, your privacy settings will automatically follow the latest settings you set for a photo. So, if you set a previous photo to Just me, it will be the default audience setting for the next photo you upload.

To change the audience settings of the photo you're about to upload, click the audience settings button. You will find it under your name.


From here you can change the audience of the post, then click Done to return to your post.

When you want to share the photo, select Post.

add a comment of How to make private and hide your photos on Facebook
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.