How to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp

Who I am
Pau Monfort
@paumonfort

WhatsApp allows you to block a person to prevent spam or message flurries. Whether it's someone you've just started dating or a schoolmate who's luring you into a multilevel marketing scheme. Although you can block such a person, WhatsApp does not notify the sender. But if you can't text or go through someone, there are some pointers to know if you've been blocked on WhatsApp.

WhatsApp's Block option is a nifty privacy feature that doesn't alert users when they are blocked. But once you're stuck on the instant messaging app, there are some smarter ways to know if an acquaintance, prospect, or date has blocked you. Here's how to get started.



CHECK LAST ACCESS AND ONLINE STATUS

This is the first thing you can check to see if anyone on WhatsApp has blocked you. Open the conversation with the person on WhatsApp and check the last access under the contact name. Even if the person enabled the last time they were seen on WhatsApp, you probably won't see them now.

When the person is active on WhatsApp, you usually see the "Online" status regardless of the last setting seen. But when someone blocks you, you won't see the online status.

There are chances that the person has disabled the "Last Accessed" option in WhatsApp and is not online on WhatsApp at that time.

CHECK THE PHOTO OF THE CONTACT PROFILE

Have you noticed that you can't see that contact's profile picture in WhatsApp? This only happens if the person has blocked or removed your number and enabled the option to hide their display image from people not in Contacts. This option is available in the Privacy Settings of the WhatsApp App Settings.



If so, it's unlikely you'll be able to see their image displayed.

YOUR MESSAGES WILL NOT GO BEYOND WHATSAPP SERVERS

If you can't see someone's display image, it's only natural to ask them what happened. But if your messages don't go through and you don't get the blue check marks indicating that the person has seen your message, it is very likely that the person has blocked you.

When you try to send messages, you will only see a check mark. This indicates that the message has reached the WhatsApp servers. You will not see the double check marks as the message never leaves the WhatsApp servers and reaches the recipients' WhatsApp account.

Try to send as many messages as possible, but no one will reach another person's phone and you will still see a single check mark in conversations.

YOUR WHATSAPP CALLS WILL NOT GO TO GOOD END

Another way to check this is to call the contact. When you call someone on WhatsApp, you will see the call status. When the service connects to the other person's WhatsApp, you will see the Ringtone status in WhatsApp.

But if the person has blocked you, you will only notice the call status while making a voice call or video call on WhatsApp. However, this is not accurate because if the other person's WhatsApp is not connected to the internet, you will still see the call status on your phone.

So if your messages and calls fail, it's one indication but not conclusive proof that the person blocked you.


YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ADD USERS TO A WHATSAPP GROUP

This is the best way to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp. You need to create a WhatsApp group and add the person to it. You won't be able to add someone if the person has blocked you or disabled automatic group addition.



  • Open WhatsApp on your phone and create a random group with a name.
  • Go to the WhatsApp group and tap the group name at the top.
  • Scroll down and select Add Attendees.
  • Select the contact from the list and press Add at the top.

WhatsApp will try to add a contact to the group, but will fail to do so and you will see the error Unable to add participant. You can try again, but it's not worth it. The error indicates your blocking status in WhatsApp.


Conclusions

If a specific contact meets all the criteria mentioned above, the person has definitely blocked you on WhatsApp. You won't even be able to see their WhatsApp status.

add a comment of How to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.